Follow usFollow us on facebookFollow us on Twitter
The WSK Open Series crowns the first champions in Castelletto
The WSK Open Series crowns the first champions in Castelletto Gallery Castelletto (ITA)
Sunday, April 16, 2023

Allegate 40 WSK Open Series Rd3 Castelletto finals 160423 ENG - 557 Kb

The third round awarded the titles to Kuzhnini (X30 Junior) and Carenini (X30 Senior). On track also the youngsters of the MINI that will end the championship on June 25th i Sarno: the victories went to Arias in MINI Gr.3 and Gorskyi in MINI Gr.3 Under 10.

Castelletto di Branduzzo (ITA), 16.04.2023
The penultimate round of the WSK Open Series took place at the 7 Laghi Kart International Circuit in Castelletto di Branduzzo (Pavia, Italy). This was the third stage of the championship after the first two rounds in Lonato and Cremona, and on the occasion the first two titles were awarded to the winners of the two categories, X30 Junior and X30 Senior.

The titles awarded and the winners in the MINI category in the third round.
In the Castelletto round, the Swiss driver Tiziano Kuzhnini (#707 Team Driver/Tony Kart-Iame-MG) won the WSK Open Series title in X30 Junior, while Italian driver Danny Carenini (#801 Energy Corse/Energy-Iame-MG) claimed the title in X30 Senior. The young drivers in the MINI category also competed in Castelletto, and their championship will conclude on June 25th in Sarno in the fourth and final round of the WSK Open Series. At the 7 Laghi Kart circuit, after the morning Prefinals, the winner in the MINI Gr.3 category was the Spanish driver Bosco Arias Chavarri (#503 Team Driver/KR-Iame-Vega), while in the MINI Gr.3 Under 10, the Polish driver Leonardo Gorski (#511 BabyRace/Parolin-Iame-Vega) took the victory.

The winners of the Prefinals.
The winners of the Prefinals held on Sunday morning were:
MINI Gr.3 Under 10 – Prefinal: Leonardo Gorski (POL) (#511 BabyRace/Parolin-Iame-Vega).
MINI Gr.3 – Prefinal-A: Dean Hoogendoorn (NLD) (#501 Kidix/KR-Iame-Vega);
Prefinal-B: Bogdan Cosma Cristofor (ROU) (#539 Team Driver/KR-Iame-Vega).
X30 Junior – Prefinal: Riccardo Ferrari (ITA) (#712 Zanchi Motorsport/Tony Kart-Iame-MG).
X30 Senior – Prefinal: Nando Weixelbaumer (AUT) (#833 Martinis/Red Speed-Iame-MG).

The Finals.
MINI Gr.3 Under 10 – Gorskyi wins the final and takes the lead of the championship.

The Polish driver Leonardo Gorski (#511 BabyRace/Parolin-Iame-Vega) managed to prevail in the Final, after winning the Prefinal and being the best in the heats. With this result, he took the lead in the championship, while in the battle for the other positions on the podium, Niccolò Perico (#566 Energy Corse/Energy-TM) prevailed over Michele Orlando (#618 IPK Official/IPK-TM). The Ukrainian driver Oleksandr Legenkyi (#536 Team Driver/KR-Iame) finished fourth, ahead of another protagonist in the category, the Australian driver Sebastian Eskandari-Marandi (Tony Kart R.T./Tony Kart-Vortex). The Belgian driver Antoine Venant (#572 Kidix/KR-Iame) finished ninth and lost the leadership.
MINI GR.3 U10 Final Standings:
1. Leonardo Gorskyi (POL)
2. Niccolo’ Perico (ITA)
3. Michele Orlando (ITA)
MINI GR.3 U10 Championship classification:
1. Leonardo Gorskyi (POL) points 200
2. Michele Orlando (ITA) points 140
3. Antoine Venant (FRA) points 132

MINI Gr.3 – Arias wins as Cosma Cristofor takes the new lead.
A nice battle gave life to the final of MINI Gr.3, where the Spanish driver Bosco Arias Chavarri (#503 Team Driver/KR-Iame-Vega) emerged as the winner after the first few laps of the race. The American driver Keelan Harvick (#513 BabyRace/Parolin-Iame) managed to secure second place, overtaking the Romanian driver Bogdan Cosma Cristofor (#539 Team Driver/KR-Iame) who was leading the championship. Vladimir Ivannikov (#522 Gamoto/EKS-TM) finished fourth, while the Turkish driver Iskender Zulfikari (#502 BabyRace/Parolin-Iame) settled for fifth place ahead of Dean Hoogendoorn (#501 Kidix/KR-Iame), who moved up to second place in the championship.
MINI GR.3 Final Standings:
1. Bosco Arias Chavarri (ESP)
2. Keelan Harvick (USA)
3. Bogdan Cosma Cristofor (ROU)
MINI GR.3 Championship classification:
1. Bogdan Cosma Cristofor (ROU) points 219
2. Dean Hoogendoorn (NLD) points 204
3. Bosco Arias Chavarri (ESP) points 160

X30 Junior – The final to Ferrari, the championship to Kuzhnini.
The X30 Junior final was quite eventful, with a series of position swaps between the two main contenders in the category, the Dutch classification leader Rocco Coronel (#704 Martinis/Red Speed-Iame-MG) and the Swiss Tiziano Kuzhnini (#707 Team Driver/Tony Kart-Iame), who were competing for the championship win. On the last lap, Kuzhnini made contact with Coronel, resulting in Kuzhnini receiving a 5s time penalty and being demoted one position, while Coronel finished fourth. The victory in the final went to the Italian Riccardo Ferrari (#712 Zanchi Motorsport/Tony Kart-Iame), followed by the Portuguese driver Lorenzo Campos and Filippo Pancotti, both from Team Driver on Tony Kart-Iame. However, the championship title ultimately went to Tiziano Kuzhnini, who finished with a two-point advantage over Coronel.
X30 Junior Final Standings:
1. Riccardo Ferrari (ITA)
2. Lorenzo Campos (PRT)
3. Filippo Pancotti (ITA)
X30 Junior Championship classification:
1. Tiziano Kuzhnini (CHE) points 196
2. Rocco Coronel (NLD) points 194
3. Filippo Pancotti (ITA) points 185

X30 Senior – Albanese wins the final and Carenini the championship.
The battle for success in the championship primarily involved the Italian driver Danny Carenini (#801 Energy Corse/Energy-Iame-MG), the Austrian driver Nando Weixelbaumer (#833 Martinis/Red Speed-Iame) and the French Andy Ratel (#842 Kidix/KR-Iame), who entered this third round with a slight advantage in the championship. Federico Albanese (#846 Italcorse/Italcorse-Iame) joined the three and won the final race after some position exchanges with Carenini and Weixelbaumer. Danny Carenini finished second and secured the title, while Nando Weixelbaumer closes his effort in third and took second place in the championship. Andy Ratel finished only sixth, but retained the third place on the championship podium.
X30 Senior Final Standings:
1. Federico Albanese (ITA)
2. Danny Carenini (ITA)
3. Nando Weixelbaumer (AUT)
X30 Senior Championship classification:
1. Danny Carenini (ITA) points 174
2. Nando Weixelbaumer (AUT) points 133
3. Andy Ratel (FRA) points 132

The next round of the WSK Open Series 2023:
4th Rd – 25/06/2023 SARNO / MINI - OKN - OKNJ - KZ2

Info, Results, Classifications:

WSK Promotion
Press Office
Ph. Sportinphoto TKart VegaLe Cont Panta Unipro Lap Timer SportInPhoto Ukart