Follow usFollow us on facebookFollow us on Twitter
WSK Champions Cup: the international karting season has kicked off from Lonato
WSK Champions Cup: the international karting season has kicked off from Lonato Gallery Lonato del Garda (ITA)
Friday, January 21, 2022

Allegate 04 WSK Champions Cup 210122 ENG - 530 Kb

The South Garda Karting circuit of Lonato houses the season’s opening WSK Champions Cup. This round is naming the first protagonists of 2022.

Lonato del Garda (ITA), 21.01.2022
Despite teams and drivers of WSK had to face a sudden change of venue from Adria to Lonato, the 2022 season by WSK Promotion has started with the usual great international participation thanks to the perfect organization of the whole circus and the loyalty to WSK karting that has been shown more than ever by teams and drivers on this occasion.

The first round of season 2022 is underway at the South Garda Karting circuit with the 9th WSK Champions Cup in the 17th year of activity of WSK. More than 170 drivers gathered in Lonato from 36 different nations. The category of the youngest drivers, MINI, is particularly crowded with 92 drivers at the start.

Qualifying practice.
MINI. MINI has kicked off the first on-track challenges of the weekend in qualifying practice. The pole position of Series-1 went to the Belgian driver Dries Van Langendonck (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing-Vega), who completed his best lap after 52.380s. His teammate from Australia William Calleja topped Series-2 in 52.339s, while the Spaniard Christian Costoya of Parolin Motorsport went even quicker in Series-3 with a laptime of 52.147s. The fastest overall was the Czech driver Jindrich Pesl (BabyRace/Parolin-Iame) though, as he posted a 51.919s in Series-4.
KZ2. In the most powerful category, KZ2, the pole position went to the Dutch Senna Van Walstijn (Sodikart/Sodikart-TM Racing-Vega) in 45.022s, who pipped the German David Trefilov (Maranello SRP/Maranello-TM Racing) by 0.047s and the French Emilien Denner (Sodikart/Sodikart-TM Racing) in 0.116s.
OK. In OK the Italian Sebastiano Pavan (Team Driver/KR-Iame-LeCont) led the pack with the time 46.001s. He proceeded his fellow-countryman and teammate Danny Carenini (46.109s).
OKJ. In OK-Junior the pole position was claimed by the Russian Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport/Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega) in 47.133s, that was 0.085s faster than the time posted by the Italian Emanuele Olivieri (IPK/IPK-TM Racing).

Initial qualifying heats.
Qualifying heats run on Friday confirmed a great competitiveness and leveled performances. Heats will end on Saturday, January 22 and will decide the starting grids of the final stages that will be run on Sunday, January 23.
In MINI, the victory of heat A-B and B-E went to the Spaniard Christian Costoya (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing-Vega), that of heat C-D and D-F to the Romanian David Cosma-Cristofor (Gulstar Racing/KR-Iame), E-F’s to Jacopo Martinese (BabyRace/Parolin-Iame) and heat A-C went to the Czech Jindrich Pesl (BabyRace/Parolin-Iame).
In KZ2 heat-1 was won by the Dutch Senna Van Walstijn (Sodikart/Sodikart-TM Racing-Vega), in OK to Danny Carenini (Team Driver/KR-Iame-LeCont), and in OKJ to the Russian Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport/Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega).

The program
Saturday, January 22

09:00 – 11:00: Warm-up (15′)
11:10 – 17:10: Qualifying heats
Sunday, January 23 (Live Streaming)
09:00 – 10:40: Warm-up (15′)
11:00 – 12:40: Prefinals
13:40 – 15:35: Finals

WSK Promotion
Press Office
Ph. Sportinphoto TKart VegaLe Cont Panta Unipro Lap Timer SportInPhoto Ukart